top of page
  • brighamvaughnnews

Review – “My Brother’s Keeper” Series

My Brother’s Keeper Series

The town of Gilford has a Big and Terrible secret hidden in the ground.

Infecting those it touches.

Exploiting their darkness.

Consuming their souls.

It’s hungry. It’s vile. It’s evil.

And it wants out.




Marshal Jon Foster lost his purpose and his sanity the day he saw the image of his dead brother. The distraction saved Jon’s life but cost the lives of innocent people including his best friend and partner. It was a price for survival Jon couldn’t live with and was sure he’d never understand.

Driven by grief and guilt he tried to escape his past by fleeing to a small town in the middle of nowhere. Only instead of peace, the memories festered.

Then the offer of a stick of gum from a stranger changes Jon’s life and puts him on a road out of the nightmare he’s trapped in.

Ellis Harper has lived the past twenty years isolated from the outside world and sole caretaker for his mentally disabled brother, Rudy. While Ellis loves his brother, he longs for a life he’ll never be able to have.

Shut away, his days consist of chores, endless cartoons, and games of Go Fish.  A world that seemed to have no end until an innocent misunderstanding turns Ellis and his brother into a target for a town bully.

It’s a fight Ellis can never win on his own but thanks to a chance meeting with a stranger, he doesn’t have to.

What begins as a new journey in love for both men quickly unfolds into something neither of them could have ever imagined.

Book One:  Amazon



A new chance at life comes in many forms: For Jon it’s a family made with Ellis and his brother Rudy. For Ellis, it’s Jon, who has brought the outside world into the protective life he’s built for his mentally disabled brother.

Together they have discovered true happiness and what it means to be loved.

Then one perfect disaster after the other pushes Jon’s resolve to its limit and Ellis over the edge. If they have any chance of saving what they’ve built both men must face their deepest fears.

It’s a test Jon thought he’d already passed and one Ellis never imagined he’d have to face. The journey will forever change who they are and redefine who they were meant to be.

It has to happen.

And all things happen for a reason.

Book Two: Amazon 



Ellis and Jon need answers.

What is there to understand?

Why does it have to happen?

And what reason could ever justify losing those you love?

If only there was a simple answer. But the more questions they ask, the farther they must travel into the darkness and the things they see are not human, or even possible.

They are, in fact, Big and Terrible.

The plague is rising in Gilford. To stop it from spreading Ellis will have to embrace his destiny and Jon will have to let him go. Both men must be willing to lose everything in order to save the innocent.

It is, after all, rule number six.

Book Three: Amazon


I can give you the synopsis and try to tell you how this series touched me, but it will be wholly inadequate.  As a writer, I should be able to articulate how the story made me feel, but I’m mute, struggling to find the words.  It was beautiful and heart-wrenching all at once.  The characters of Joe and Ellis , along with Rudy and Danny will linger with me for a long time.  

At its most basic level the series was a supernatural thriller and gay romance, but that barely scratches the surface.  The depth of the story amazed me and I cried for the characters a number of times.  I can think of few stories that have made me so desperately want the main characters to end up together despite the obstacles in their way.    

I DEVOURED the first two books but I had to put Book 3 aside for a short while because I was so terrified of what was coming.    It was truly one of the best things I’ve read in a very long time.  It was an unusual story and although it wasn’t easy  to get through, it was so worth it.  Angsty but beautiful and something you really, really need to put on your TBR list.

Oh, and Boys in Our Books is giving away multiple copies so head over there to win either the entire series or the first book!

3 views0 comments


bottom of page